Topic:  AM/PM
Select AM/PM under the Layout menu to have all times on
the sundial displayed using AM/PM notation, rather than the
24-hour clock.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Analemma
Select Analemma under the Sundial menu to create an
analemmatic sundial.  To use the sundial, you must orient it
with the cardinal directions, so you must know the direction
of true North.  Also, the sundial must be positioned in
accordance with the Orientation... selection under the
Layout menu.  Finally, a gnomon of the appropriate height is
required (the height of the gnomon is specified in the
Dimensions... selection under the Layout menu).

Note that both the time and the date can be read from the
analemmatic dial.

Note that all menu selections that apply to the analemmatic
dial are undimmed.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Arabic
Select Arabic under the Layout menu to have all times on the
sundial displayed using Arabic numerals.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Azimuth Range...
Select Azimuth Range... under the Sundial menu to specify
the range of azimuths for which the calibration panel is to
be drawn.

See the entry under Calibration Panel for an explanation of
how the azimuth range is used.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Babylonian Hours
Select Babylonian Hours under the Sundial menu to have your
sundial display Babylonian hours;  Babylonian hours are
hours since sunrise.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Bold
Select Bold under the Style menu to apply bold formatting to
the text in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Boxed
Select Box under the Style menu to draw boxes around some
of the text in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Calibration Panel
Select Calibration Panel under the Sundial menu to create a
calibration panel.  A calibration panel is used to determine
the azimuth and elevation of a surface for use as an
analemmatic dial.

To use the calibration panel, select today's date, using the
Date... heading under the Sundial menu.  Similarly, select
a time under the Time... heading.  Select a range of
azimuths and elevations that are likely to encompass the
true azimuth and elevation of the surface under
consideration.  Mount the panel on the surface with a gnomon
of the appropriate height (the height of the gnomon is
specified in the Dimensions... selection under the Layout
menu).  At the appropriate (clock) time, note where the
shadow cast by the gnomon falls.  This gives the azimuth and
elevation of the surface.

Note that all menu selections that apply to the calibration
panel are undimmed.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Clear
Select Clear from the Edit menu to unmark any marked
portions of your sundial.

When Clear is selected and nothing is marked, no action is
taken.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Clock Hours
Select Clock Hours under the Sundial menu to have your
sundial display conventinal clock hours, or hours based on
mean solar time.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Close
Select Close from the File menu to close the current
sundial.

If your current sundial has not been saved, you will be
asked if you would like to save it.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Copy
Select Copy from the Edit menu to move a marked portion
of your sundial to the clipboard, without deleting the
original.

When Copy is selected and nothing is marked, no action is
taken.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Cut
Select Cut from the Edit menu to move the marked portion
of your sundial to the clipboard.  After copying, the
marked portion will be deleted.

When Cut is selected and nothing is marked, no action is
taken.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Date...
Select Date... under the Sundial menu to specify the day for
which the calibration panel is to be drawn.  Typically, this
will be today's date.

See the entry under Calibration Panel for an explanation of
how the date is used.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Datelines...
Select Datelines... under the Sundial menu to specify the
dateline intervals for the analemmatic dial.

The minor interval is used to specify the interval between
successive datelines, and the major interval is used to
specify which datelines will be drawn with solid lines (all
other datelines are drawn with dotted lines).
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Daylight Saving Time
Select Daylight Saving Time under the Sundial menu to have
the sundial calculated for daylight saving time in the time
zone implied by the longitude.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Daylight Saving Time...
Select Daylight Saving Time... under the Sundial menu to
select the months during which daylight-saving time is in
effect.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  December-June
Select December-June under the Sundial menu to specify that
the analemmatic dial is to be drawn for the dates between
the winter and summer solstices.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Dimensions...
Select Dimensions... under the Layout menu to modify the
size of your sundial.

For the Analemma sundial, you will be prompted for the
height of the gnomon and the location of the gnomon with
respect to the lower-left-hand corner of the page.

For the Soda Can Dial, you will be prompted for the width
and height of the dial.  The default values give a good
fit to a standard soda can.  Only change these values,
especially the width, if you plan to use the dial with
another circular object whose perimeter you know.

For the Oughtred Dial, you will be prompted for the center
and radius of the dial.

For the Ring Dial, you will be prompted for the width and
height of the dial.

For the Calibration Panel, you will be prompted for the
height of the gnomon and the location of the gnomon with
respect to the lower-left-hand corner of the page.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Down
Select Down under the Size menu to decrease the size of the
font by one point.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Elevation Range...
Select Elevation Range... under the Sundial menu to specify
the range of elevations for which the calibration panel is
to be drawn.

See the entry under Calibration Panel for an explanation of
how the elevation range is used.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Export As PostScript...
Select Export As PostScript... under the File menu to
create a file containing a version of your current sundial
in the popular PostScript Level 1 format.  This file is an
ASCII file which can be viewed or edited by a text editor.
The file can also be downloaded to a PostScript-capable
rendering engine such as a laser printer or linotype
machine.

You will be prompted for the number of copies of the
sundial you want in the file;  select Erase to erase the
contents of the file or Append to append to the file.  For
a new file, these two choices are identical.

You will then be prompted for the name of the file you wish
to use.

PostScript is a registered trademark of Adobe Systems
Incorporated.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Fast
Select Fast under the Tools menu to select calculation and
display in fast mode.  Fast mode, as its name implies, runs
faster but allows you fewer opportunities to interrupt.
Fast mode should almost always be selected.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Font
Select a font under the Font menu to be used for all text in
your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Full Year
Select Full Year under the Sundial menu to specify that the
analemmatic dial is to be drawn for the entire year.  In
this case, in order to avoid cluttering the dial, no
datelines are drawn.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Furniture Azimuths...
Select Furniture Azimuths... under the Layout menu to 
specify the range of azimuths for which you want furniture
drawn on the analemmatic sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Furniture Elevations...
Select Furniture Elevations... under the Layout menu to
specify the range of elevations for which you want furniture
drawn on the analemmatic sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Furniture
Select Furniture under the layout menu to toggle furniture
for your sundial.  Available furniture consists of azimuths
and elevations for the analemmatic sundial and
elevations only for the soda can dial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Gnomon for Soda Can Dial
Select Gnomon for Soda Can Dial under the Sundial menu to
create a gnomon for the soda can dial.  

Read the help entry for Soda Can Dial to see how to use both
the soda can dial and its gnomon.

Note that all menu selections that apply to the gnomon for
the soda can dial are undimmed.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Italian Hours
Select Italian Hours under the Sundial menu to have your
sundial display Italian hours;  Italian hours are hours
until sunset.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Italic
Select Italic under the Style menu to apply italic
formatting to the text in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  June-December
Select June-December under the Sundial menu to specify that
the analemmatic dial is to be drawn for the dates between
the summer and winter solstices.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Latitude & Longitude...
Select Latitude & Longitude... under the Sundial menu to 
specify your latitude and longitude.

After specifying your latitude and longitude, you may want
to use the Save Defaults selection under the File menu to
make your latitude and longitude the default latitude and
longitude.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Location...
Select Location... under the Layout menu to modify the
textual location of the sundial.  This text is only used to
annotate the dial and is used in no other way.  In other
words, there is NO built-in geographical dictionary which
contains the latitudes and longitudes of the major cities
of the world.

After specifying your location, you may want to use the Save
Defaults selection under the File menu to make your location
the default location.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Memory
Select Memory under the Tools menu to see how much memory
the Sundials application still has available.  If the
amount of memory gets low, it is best to quit the program or
to reset the memory, using the Reset selection under the
Tools menu.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  North Up
Select North Up under the Layout menu to orient your
sundial with North facing up on your monitor.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Open...
Select Open... from the File menu to retrieve a previously-
saved sundial.

If your current sundial has not been saved, you will be
asked if you would like to save it.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Orientation...
Select Orientation... under the Layout menu to modify the
orientation of the Analemma sundial.  The sundial is
oriented by orienting its gnomon, which is assumed
perpendicular to it.

The orientation of the gnomon is given by its azimuth,
measured counter-clockwise from due East, and its elevation,
measured above and below the horizon.

Examples:

An Analemma that is parallel to the horizon has a
gnomon whose elevation is 90 degrees (and arbitrary azimuth).

An Analemma whose gnomon is perpendicular to the Equator
(and is therefore parallel to the axis of rotation of the
Earth) has gnomon elevation equal to the local latitude and
gnomon azimuth equal to either +90 (facing North) or -90
(facing South).
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Other...
Select Other... under the Size menu to select a font size
not listed in the menu.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Oughtred Dial
Select Oughtred Dial under the Sundial menu to create an
Oughtred dial.

To use the Oughtred dial, orient it on a horizontal
surface with the cardinal directions.  Use a vertical
gnomon.  Read the time where the shadow intersects today's
dateline.

Note that all menu selections that apply to the Oughtred
dial are undimmed.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Outline
Select Outline under the Style menu to apply outline
formatting to the text in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Page Setup...
Select Page Setup... under the File menu to change the
paper size, orientation, and special printing effects for
your sundials.

Before selecting Page Setup..., use the Chooser under the
Apple menu to select a printer.  The options that are
available in the Page Setup dialog box depend on the
current printer.

If you change printers, verify that Page Setup... options
are correct.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Paste
Select Paste from the Edit menu to insert the contents of
the clipboard at your cursor position in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Plain Text
Select Plain Text under the Style menu to remove all
formatting from the text in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Print...
Select Print... under the File menu to print your sundial.

Before selecting Print..., use the Chooser under the Apple
menu to select a printer.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Quit
Select Quit from the File menu to exit Sundials.

If your current sundial has not been saved, you will be
asked if you would like to save it.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Reset
Select Reset under the Tools menu to release all memory from
data arrays back to the Sundials application.  This can be
useful if the application is running out of memory and you
do not wish to quit the application.  However, selecting
reset eliminates the results of any calculations the
application may have already made.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Ring Dial
Select Ring Dial under the Sundial menu to create a ring
dial.  

To use the ring dial, carefully cut it out along the top and
bottom edges.  Make a small hole at the intersection of the
unlabelled horizontal line and the first of July.  Tape the
dial into a cylinder, taking care that top and bottom edges
match up.  Suspend the ring dial from the point where the
top and bottom edges meet and orient it towards the sun.
The time can be read where the hole allows sunlight into
the dial.

Note that all menu selections that apply to the ring dial
are undimmed.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Roman
Select Roman under the Layout menu to have all times on the sundial displayed using Roman numerals.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Save
Select Save from the File menu to save your current
sundial.

Your sundial will be saved under its current name.  If it
doesn't have a name yet, Sundials will ask you to supply
one.

To save your sundial under a different name, or on a
different disk or folder, use Save As... from the File
menu.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Save As...
Select Save As... from the File menu to save your current
sundial under a new name or in a different folder.  After
your sundial is saved, the folder it was saved in will
become the current folder.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Select All
Select Select All under the Edit menu to mark every element
of your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Save Defaults
Select Save Defaults under the File menu to establish the
current sundial settings as the defaults whenever Sundials
is subsequently launched.

In order for the defaults to be saved, your current disk
must be your startup disk and your System Folder must have
the name "System Folder."  If either condition is not met,
you will get the error message "No such file."
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Show Clipboard
Select Show Clipboard under the Edit menu to display the
current contents of the Clipboard.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Size
Select a size under the Size menu for the font size to be
used for all text in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Slow
Select Slow under the Tools menu to calculate and display in
slow mode.  Slow mode, as its name implies, runs slower but
allows you more opportunities to interrupt.  Slow mode
should be used when you are setting up the parameters for a
dial.  Once everything is set, switch to fast mode.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Soda Can Dial
Select Soda Can Dial under the Sundial menu to create a
soda can dial.  To use the sundial, carefully cut it out 
along the left, top, and right edges.  Wrap it around a 
clean, used soda can.  Tape it into a cylinder, taking care
that left and right edges match up.  Create a gnomon by
selecting Gnomon for Soda Can Dial under the Sundial menu.
Make a copy of the gnomon onto a piece of mylar.  Wrap the
mylar around the dial and tape it as well.

To use the soda can dial, rotate the mylar until one of the
solid lines is over today's date.  Place the dial on a
horizontal surface with today's date facing you and rotate
the dial until the shadow cast by the solid line away from
you falls along the solid line nearest you.  The current
time can be read at the intersection of the solid line and
the elliptical shadow cast by the top of the dial.

Note that all menu selections that apply to the soda can
dial are undimmed.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  South Up
Select South Up under the Layout menu to orient your
sundial with South facing up on your monitor.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Standard Time
Select Standard Time under the Sundial menu to have the
sundial calculated for standard time in the time zone
implied by the longitude.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Time...
Select Time... under the Sundial menu to specify the time
for which the calibration panel is to be drawn.  Typically,
this will be a time not too far in the future.

See the entry under Calibration Panel for an explanation of
how the time is used.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Timelines...
Select Timelines... under the Sundial menu to specify the
timelines to be drawn for your sundial.

The timelines are specified using a first and last timeline
as well as an interval between timelines.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Time-Zone Correction...
Select Time-Zone Correction... under the Sundial menu to
input a time-zone correction for non-standard time zones.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  24-Hour Clock
Select 24-Hour Clock under the Layout menu to have all
times on the sundial displayed using the 24-hour system
(i.e., one o'clock in the afternoon is 13, two o'clock is
14, etc.) rather than the AM/PM system.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Underline
Select Underline under the Style menu to underline the text
in your sundial.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Undo
Select Undo under the Edit menu to undo the last completed
action.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Up
Select Up under the Size menu to increase the font size by
one point.
------------------------------------------------------------
Topic:  Year...
Select Year... under the Sundial menu to specify the year